Kvetchup

We returned home from [Big City] yesterday afternoon, following Miss Attitude’s VEP test yesterday morning.  The test went fine, Miss A did great, the technician said he got a good test (the “technical quality” of the test was good, so they should get good results from it), and we should hear something in 3-5 days.  I’m trying not to worry, but that’s difficult, as you can imagine, especially since Miss A saw the ophthalmologist last week, and he said she still has some swelling on her optic nerve.

The last few days (well, the last few weeks, really) are really taking a toll on me.  I made a flying trip to [larger town an hour away, where we go for doctor appointments and shopping] Sunday afternoon because the pediatrician kindly agreed to see The Drama Queen, whose throat was hurting so badly she was in tears.  Diagnosis: Strep throat.  Of course.

We left for [Big City] Sunday evening, hoping to fit in a little “fun time” before Miss Attitude’s tests Tuesday morning.  We did some shopping and general goofing around on Monday and got back to the hotel late that evening.  I was almost finished bathing SuperBoy when…

*Warning: Skip the next paragraph – or just leave now and return later – if you are currently eating, have just finished eating, or are planning to eat anytime in the near future…*

…he threw up his supper, right there in the bathtub.  He continued to throw up, off and on, all night long.  He and I shared one of the hotel room’s double beds, and every time he moved or made a noise, I would jump and prepare for the next round, and Deputy Dad would jump out of the other double bed to grab more towels and wet wipes.  Needless to say, none of us got much sleep that night.  Thankfully, it seems he just had either a 24-hour bug or had eaten something that didn’t agree with him, because he hasn’t had any tummy troubles since we’ve been home (knock on wood).

So, there you have it.  In three days’ time, we had The Drama Queen with strep throat, SuperBoy throwing up, and Miss Attitude having nerve tests.  We’re all exhausted, the house is a wreck, and I’m swamped at work.  If you’re wondering why I haven’t called/emailed/posted a new blog entry/visited your blog/commented at your blog, just go back and read the previous sentence again.

Thanks for all your supportive comments and emails, and for your prayers and good thoughts.  I do appreciate it, even when I forget to say so.

11 Responses to Kvetchup

  1. kalki says:

    So glad to get an update! Although I can totally understand how providing one might not have been at the top of your list lately. It seems you’ve been slightly busy lately. You know, just a little.

    Smooches. You’re in my thoughts.

  2. CircusKelli says:

    Ah yes… never a dull moment with three kids.

    I’ve been thinking about you and hoping all is well. I’ll continue to think of you, love, and say a prayer or two that you find some peace and get some quality rest.

    Hugs,

    Kelli

  3. Danielle says:

    Oh you poor thing, you!

    I’m glad to get an update too. Although, my goodness, that is more than anyone should have to deal with in 3 day’s time. (I think it was 3 days, wasn’t it?) Anyway, WHEW! I’m glad those days are over.

    Now, of course, you have to wait for the test results which will have you on pins and needles… ugh. How wretched.

    You’ve got my sympathies, hon.

    Sending a hug and some prayers your way.

    -Danielle

    P.S. and some virtual chocolate, of course. 😉

  4. Squirl says:

    Oh dear, I was hoping everything was okay. Maybe you were just too busy to post/comment. Crossing my fingers for the test results.

    Hey, Danielle mentioned virtual chocolate…

  5. psumommy says:

    Oh, no, I’m so sorry! What an awful week. You’re in my thoughts and prayers often. ((HUGS))

  6. amy says:

    OH my ladybug. Troppi! Thinking about you and praying about youse.

  7. I’ve been thinking about you too. I hope now you can relax in the routine again. Take care!
    xxoo

  8. At least YOU have a good reason for not posting. I, on the other hand…

    Hugs and strep free vomitless kisses to you.

  9. Annejelynn says:

    um, hang in there – ? – (feels like a feeble attempt to offer comfort, but I hope it helps a bit!)

  10. Danielle says:

    Any updates on her test results?

    I know it has been a while and I’ve been hoping for the best for her…

  11. […] to the pediatrician last week.  Miss Attitude’s VEP test was normal.  I asked the doc if – since the MRI of her brain and the VEP test were both normal – […]

Leave a Reply

