Update: Brain Watch 2007 *UPDATED*

Miss Attitude’s ophthalmologist appointment was rescheduled for this morning, so we just got back from [larger town an hour away, where we go for shopping and doctor appointments].

The good news: The MRI was normal.  No tumors or abnormalities.  That’s pretty much what the doctors expected; they just wanted to rule out anything major.

The bad news: The next step in the diagnostic procedure is a lumbar puncture (spinal tap). 

All signs are pointing to Miss Attitude having pseudotumor cerebri, which is what our pediatrician suspected.  The lumbar puncture will measure her intracranial pressure; the ophthalmologist said if the pressure is below a certain number, we’ll just keep an eye on things; if it’s above that number, he’ll send us to a neurologist for treatment.

I don’t yet have a date and time for the lumbar puncture; the ophthalmologist’s office will schedule it and give us a call.  But I’ll be sure to let you guys know, since we’ll certainly need your prayers and good vibes that day.  I’m already a nervous wreck, just thinking about it.

*UPDATE*:  I found out at 4:45 this afternoon that Miss Attitude’s lumbar puncture (I just hate the phrase spinal tap if for no other reason than because it invokes images of a 1980s heavy metal rock band.) will be at 9:00 (Central time) tomorrow (Thursday) morning.  (Unless I’m mistaken, that’s 10AM Eastern time, 8AM Mountain, and 7AM Pacific.  You can revisit this post for a time zone chart.)  I appreciate any prayers/thoughts/good vibes you might send our way, as I’m pretty much a nervous wreck right now.  (But, hey, at least I don’t have a week’s worth of anxiety to build up, right?, since HOLY CRAP my baby’s having a spinal tap TOMORROW.)

Which reminds me…I can’t tell you all, truly, how much your comments, suggestions, and emails helped us prepare for and make it through last week’s MRI.  So if anyone has any advice regarding the spinal tap,  please feel free to share it with me.

8 Responses to Update: Brain Watch 2007 *UPDATED*

  1. kalki says:

    Yeah, 10:00 EST. I knew that. 😉

  2. kalki says:

    I’m here, sending good vibes and lots of love (starting an hour early to make sure they get there in time).

  3. Danielle says:

    I said a prayer for all of you. I hope it goes well.

    I’ll be thinking of you. Sending hugs of calm your way.

  4. kalki says:

    ::squeezing eyes shut in good-vibe-sending concentration::

  5. Squirl says:

    Crap, I’m late! Well, I’ve been sending good thoughts all along, so maybe there was some residual.

    Hope everything went well. Love and hugs!

  6. UCM says:

    I missed it too! I’m still praying that she comes out okay. BTW, my new company makes lumbar puncture trays. 🙂

  7. psumommy says:

    Oh, no! I don’t check your blog for ONE DAY and I miss this. Please know that you’re in my thoughts in general, even if not during that specific time. Many, many hugs for both you and Miss Attitdude. And lots of calming vibes. I hope it went without incident!

  8. Susie says:

    Just checking in. xxxx

Leave a Reply

