I’ll have the anxiety combo with a side of nervousness. And super-size that. *Updated*

Miss Attitude saw the ophthalmologist* today.  He did find some swelling in her optic nerves, especially on the left side.  He’s sending her for an MRI this Thursday, and then we’ll return to the ophthalmologist’s office next Thursday.  The MRI will – hopefully – rule out anything serious, things I don’t want to type here or even think about.

*Update: My sweet friend Miss Susie Fairchild suggested I let the internet know what time Miss Attitude will have her MRI, so that my internet friends can “pray her through it,”  a brilliant idea if ever there was one.  Miss Attitude’s MRI is scheduled for tomorrow (Thursday, 2/01) at 4:30 PM Central time.  Any prayers or good thoughts you send her way at that time are greatly appreciated.

Re-Updated to add this map for the time-zonally challenged (like myself).  Central time zone is the green area.  The blue area immediately to the east is the Eastern time zone, which is one hour ahead of Central time.  The red area immediately to the west is one hour behind.  The blue area on the far left is two hours behind.

usa-map-text-resized1.png

The good news: the ophthalmologist said pseudotumor cerebri is fairly easy to treat, so I guess that diagnosis is the one to hope for, at this point.

More good news: the ophthalmologist was thoroughly impressed with and highly complimentary of our pediatrician.  He said most doctors who are not eye doctors would not have caught this.  We’ve always loved our pediatrician and had great confidence in him and in his abilities – all three of our kids have seen him since they were babies – but it was nice to hear another doctor confirm what we’ve known for years: that our pediatrician is – in the ophthalmologist’s words – “top notch.”

Thank you all so much for your prayers and good wishes.  I’m carrying them with me in my heart.  I hope you’ll keep it up for the next week or so, until we know for sure what’s going on with my sweet girl.

In other news, Deputy Dad and I celebrated a decade of parenthood today, as our Drama Queen turned ten years old.  She’s most definitely a tween-ager now…so silly and little girl one minute, so grown-up the next.  Before I had kids, I always thought I wanted boys – no girls.  Did I ever tell you that?  It stemmed from my horrible relationship with my own mother…I was just sure there was no way I could handle a daughter.  And then The Drama Queen came along.  And my, how she’s growing up.  She’s beautiful.  Intelligent.  Witty.  Sweet-hearted.  Loving.  Caring.  Strong.  Everything I never knew I wanted in a daughter.  I love her so much.

Thanks again, everyone, for your prayers and your kindness.  I’ll keep you posted, when we know more.

*Why didn’t you guys tell me I was spelling ophthalmologist wrong in that last entry?!  And, damn!  Have you ever in your life seen a word with a more complicated spelling??

15 Responses to I’ll have the anxiety combo with a side of nervousness. And super-size that. *Updated*

  1. Susie says:

    Happy Birthday, Drama Queen. 10 is a very good year. Congratulations, LadyBug and Deputy Dad on your first decade of parenting.
    All will be well with Miss Attitude. All will be well. xxx

  2. Sounds like you have a fantastic medical team on your side. I’ll continue to send good vibes your way. The MRI machine can sometimes make a loud noise (like a computer printer on crack) which can be a little freaky but tell Miss Attitude that I imagined the rhythmic sound was actually “chocolate, chocolate chocolate…” and that stopped it from being scary. However, a lot of MRI machines are very quiet so it may not be an issue at all.

    And the happiest of birthdays to Miss Drama Queen. 10 years old is pretty cool.

  3. kalki says:

    The reason no one told you is because NO ONE knows how to spell ophthalmologist!

    Happy Birthday to the Drama Queen! I’ve always thought (if I decided I wanted a kid at all) that I’d want a little boy because I find them way cuter and more fun than little girls. But then, once the kid is grown it would be more fun to have a daughter because we could go shopping and talk on the phone and be friends, like I am with my mom. Which, um, means that the ideal situation would be to have a transgendered child? Hmm, may need to rethink this a bit.

    I’m keeping Miss Attitude in my thoughts. And at least you were able to get an MRI scheduled so quickly – less time spent waiting and worrying.

  4. Danielle says:

    LIke Kalki said, none of us told you, because the spelling didn’t register as wrong for any of us! Forget the l, who needs it? I wonder if the l is supposed to be pronounced too? hmmm… never thought of that.

    It sounds like Miss Attitude is in good hands. That is one of the things I usually pray for, because the quality of the doctors and their ability to do a good diagnosis are so critical.

    And one whole decade of parenting! How exciting for you.

    And Happy Birthday to Miss Drama Queen. I hope the drama is do-able. 😉

    Sending a hug across the miles to you…

    -D

  5. Squirl says:

    I’m with the last two on the spelling. I know we’re all spelling freaks, but that one slipped right under the radar.

    Good to know that you have such a good pediatrician. It’ll mean that your your Little Miss Attitude will be diagnosed and healed much sooner.

    Happy Birthday to the Drama Queen. How lovely that your lives have been blessed with her.

    We’ll be praying with you tomorrow. (and in between, and after, etc.)

    😉

  6. kalki says:

    Regarding the update….um, what time is that in EST? (Stop laughing.) 6:30, right?

  7. CircusKelli says:

    Happy Birthday Drama Queen!

    I’ll be thinking good thoughts for Miss Attitude and you tomorrow. Let us know how it goes.

  8. kalki says:

    You? With the time zone map? Freaking AWESOME.

    Okay, bedtime! 10:45. Or, in your case, 9:45. (See how I did that? Loving the map…)

  9. Amber says:

    Could have fooled me. I would have been spellin’ it wrong without noticin’ this whole time.

    Lots of prayers to you and yours.

    You know, I am glad you got a doctor that is good and listens, cuz it took me a year to find one and I am *finally* getting things set up to hopefully be in order.

    Isn’t it hard to find a good doctor?

    Also, if I went through all that trouble to be a specialized doctor, I’d better be getting a complicated name! 😉
    wink wink

    Love you guys. Hope you guys are okay.

  10. Susie says:

    Thank you for the map. Time zones are beyond my abilities. BUT, I do know that central is one hour earlier than us, because of how much TV I watch. “8, 7 central,” etc. So, dear Kalki, for we easterners, it’s 5:30.

  11. Susie says:

    We’re here doing our thing. xxx

  12. Squirl says:

    Hope everything went well!

  13. kalki says:

    I wasn’t at a computer at 4:30 (you know, 5:30 EST) to comment my support, but I was thinking about y’all. Still am…

  14. amy says:

    Sorry i missed all this, LB! Big B-day wishes to your amazing gal. And so glad things turned out okay!

  15. amy says:

    Well, okay enough for now, that is.

    Off to the back burner, worries!
    Although I know that back burner can turn itself on at any time when you’re a momma.

    HUG.

Leave a Reply

