“When life gets you down, do you wanna know what you’ve gotta do? … Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming, swimming, swimming…”

I’ve spent the last hour trying to come up with something clever and witty to say.  But I’ve got nothing.  I’m too stressed out and worried to be witty.

Miss Attitude has been having headaches.  And I had noticed she’d put on some weight.  She had another bout of pneumonia a few weeks ago, and had to go on her respiratory steroid twice in a two-and-a-half week period.  Her face got puffy, which isn’t unusual when she’s been on the steroid; but it usually goes away within a week or two after she stops the medicine.  This time it didn’t; and I could tell she gained weight in other areas as well.

Turns out that combination of headaches and weight gain in a child with a lot of exposure to respiratory steroids is symptomatic of a pseudotumor (literally, “false tumor”).  Miss Attitude has an appointment next Tuesday (1/30) with an opthamologist, who will dilate her eyes and examine her thoroughly.  I’m assuming – from reading the linked article – he’ll be checking for swelling of the optic nerve.  And I guess we’ll find out then what the next step is, depending on what he finds.

I’m scared.  And worried.  And totally stressed out.  And I just don’t think it’s fair that my eight-year-old baby girl is having to deal with headaches every day, as she tries to go through her normal, daily activities.  She’s already been through so much in her life, with her asthma troubles and various related problems…recurring pneumonia, the infection in her lung a couple years ago, etc.  Sometimes I feel like the poor kid can’t catch a break.  And yes, I know it could be worse, and I know I need to remember to count our blessings, but… But she’s my baby girl.  And she’s hurting.  And I’m scared and worried.

If you’re the praying sort, would you please whisper a prayer for Miss Attitude when you have a moment?  And if you’re not the praying type, perhaps you could just send some feel-better vibes her way?  I’d be ever so grateful.

12 Responses to “When life gets you down, do you wanna know what you’ve gotta do? … Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming, swimming, swimming…”

  1. Susie says:

    You got it, honey. As many times as I’ve been to the fancy medical center here, each and every time, I look around there at the people who are there with their children, and I say to Jif, EVERY time, “It doesn’t matter what I’m here for; I’m just thankful it’s about me and not about our child.” Nothing is worse than your baby being in trouble and you not having the fix for it. This will be OK. It will.

  2. kalki says:

    I was gonna say the same thing as Susie. As much as I (try not to) worry about my own health, I can’t imagine worrying about a child’s health. And that makes you feel better how? Um, it doesn’t. Sorry. It’s just to say that I’m not a momma but I still empathize. I also know that waiting for a scheduled doctor’s appointment to roll around is absolute torture: It can’t come soon enough because you want some answers, and yet at the same time you dread those very answers.

    I’m thinking about you and worrying with you. And sending healing vibes Miss Attitude’s way. All my love.

  3. psumommy says:

    Aw, poor Miss Attitude. We will definitely say a prayer for her. Many hugs for both of you.

  4. Squirl says:

    My thoughts are with your daughter and you.

  5. Danielle says:

    Oh Hon, I’m so sorry for you and her. I will definitely keep her in my prayers/say a special one just for her as soon as I finish this note. I can imagine that it is just awful seeing your child ill. I also have great sympathy for her headaches. ugh. Tuesday definitely seems too far away for her sake. I get frustrated when doctors can’t see you right away when you are having painful health problems. Poor girl.

  6. Aw! Poor kiddo. I’ll send loads of good vibes your way. Hugs to you all.

  7. CircusKelli says:

    You got it, LadyBug. Prayers and good vibes and love for you and Miss Attitude and the rest of your family.

  8. Absolutely. I’m so sorry to hear that. Our babies mean the world, I know you’ll do everything in your power to help her.

  9. Annejelynn says:

    many feel-better and loving healing comfort vibes being sent your way from Vegas!

  10. kalki says:

    Thinking about you and Miss Attitude today….

  11. Susie says:

    Just checking in, honey. I hope you got some good news. xxx

  12. […] have the anxiety combo with a side of nervousness. And super-size that. Miss Attitude saw the ophthalmologist* today.  He did find some swelling in her optic nerves, especially on the left side.  He’s […]

Leave a Reply

