For auld lang syne…

I once heard that (supposedly) whatever you’re doing at midnight on New Year’s Eve is what you’ll be doing all year long.  I certainly hope that’s not true.  Every last family member (in-laws included) is either suffering with or struggling to recover from a cold we all shared with each other in an overzealous display of holiday generosity.  You know, the Spirit of Giving and all that.

In spite of our present, germ-infested state and the fact that – between the sick kids, the medicine for the sick kids, and the work I missed because of the sick kids – we’re starting out the New Year both contagious and financially doomed, I still find myself oddly optimistic and hopeful.  Maybe it’s because I’m sitting here in my warm, comfortable home, listening to my new mp3 player Deputy Dad surprised me with for Christmas.  (Warning to grammar geeks (of which I am one): Make no attempt to diagram the previous sentence, especially that whole with for disaster.  Just make a mental note that it’s currently 1:40 AM, decide to forgive my grammatical transgressions, and move on.)  Maybe it’s because my beautiful children are sleeping peacefully in their warm beds, my sweetheart is lightly snoring in the recliner next to me, and the puppy is curled up asleep on the couch.  Maybe it’s just because we took down the Christmas tree today, so that project’s not staring me in the face anymore.

Or maybe it’s because I’ve spent the last several days being consciously thankful for every little thing, and that’s improving my outlook.

Whatever the reason, I find myself hoping for good things in 2007.

As for you, my Internet Friends, I hope for good things for you as well.  If 2006 was a rough year for you (and I know it was for some of my dearest blogging buddies), then I hope 2007 is much, much better.  And if 2006 was a good year for you, I hope 2007 is spectacular.

A dear friend reminded me recently how important Hope is.  I’m holding on to Hope.  For me.  For Susie.  For you.

Happy New Year, my Internet Friends.  May God bless you and those you love today and every day.

10 Responses to For auld lang syne…

  1. psumommy says:

    Happy New Year to you, too, Ladybug.

  2. kalki says:

    Here’s to the new year! May it treat you well, dear.

  3. Susie says:

    Thank you. I love you. Happy New Year.

  4. CircusKelli says:

    Happy New Year to you and yours, too Ladybug.

    I know there are a couple of things I need to work on this year. Being thankful and finding my passion are the most important.

    I wish you nothing but the best, darlin.

  5. Squirl says:

    Don’t worry about the grammar. Sometimes you just have to let it slide, makes for a more natural sentence. 🙂

    I hope that your 2007 is much better than your 2006. Happy New Year’s!

  6. Kit says:

    Happy New Year, sweet girl! Here’s hoping that this year brings much health, happiness and love to you and yours.

  7. Amy says:

    How I love you, Ladybug.

    Happy Happy New Year to you.

  8. sheryl says:

    I am hopeful about the new year as well. Here’s to a 2007 full of good challenges, health, joy and love. 2006 had its ups and downs, as I am sure 2007 will.

    And I am not just saying that because I was doing “it” when the clock struck twelve.

  9. Danielle says:

    Happy New Year to you too! I hope that what I was doing at midnight isn’t indicative of my year, because I was sleeping, but briefly woken up by the yells and firecrackers of the various midnight celebrations. I’m not sure if that is indicative of lots of sleeping or of insomnia/waking up a lot. 😉

    Anyway, I hope 2007 is better for all of us.

  10. cat says:

    Damn. I was watching the Disney Channel Countdown to New Year special with my kids. But… with my KIDS, so there’s that, right? Family togetherness? Just preferably NOT with Hannah Montana and those obnoxious twins with the crazy-haired momma.

    As for Hope? I’m hanging on right there with ya, LadyB. Hanging on for dear life.

    Happy new year.

Leave a Reply

