“Whether the weather be fine, Whether the weather be not, Whether the weather be cold, Whether the weather be hot, We’ll weather the weather, Whatever the whether, Whether we like it or not”

On my way to work yesterday morning, the external temperature gauge in my van showed 65°F (18°C).

By lunchtime, the temperature had risen to 75°F (24°C).

I had to pick up SuperBoy early from the sitter yesterday afternoon; when I left work at 1:55, the temperature was 77°F (25°).

When I arrived at the sitter’s house seven minutes later, the wind was blowing and the temperature was 57°F (14°C).  That’s right.  A twenty-degree drop in seven minutes.  The cold front blew in just that quickly.

By the time I picked up The Drama Queen and Miss Attitude from gymnastics at 5:30, it was 44°F (7°C).

This morning we awoke to find a light layer of snow, slushy roads and frigid temperatures.  (28°F (-2°C))

With weather changes that drastic and that quick, I’m forecasting snotty noses, asthma trouble and chest colds, with a 60% chance of a trip to the pediatrician’s office next week.

“Conversation about the weather is the last refuge of the unimaginative.”
–Oscar Wilde

11 Responses to “Whether the weather be fine, Whether the weather be not, Whether the weather be cold, Whether the weather be hot, We’ll weather the weather, Whatever the whether, Whether we like it or not”

  1. kalki says:

    Girl, you did it! You totally NaBloPoMo’ed your self all the way through November! I didn’t doubt that you’d do it, but I’m still seriously impressed.

    YAY!!

    And hee, that’s a great Wilde quote.

  2. LadyBug says:

    YAY!!, indeed. Thanks for the congatulatory wishes, kalki. I started to post an “I did it!” entry today, but I kind of figured that wouldn’t count…like, I needed to have today’s entry and THEN an “I did it” post. Or something. It made sense in my head, anyway. I think. 🙂

  3. Plus since this is a blog post and technically not a weather conversation per se, you can be all like, “Ha! Wilde this, Oscar!”

  4. LaShawn says:

    YAY it is the last day of this!!!! Thanks for the congrats!

  5. psumommy says:

    Hey, that’s right- it’s the last day of November! CONGRATS, Ladybug!

    And that weather? It is WEIRD. Lots of layering going on, I imagine!

  6. Squirl says:

    Our weather changing but not within 7 minutes. We’re supposed to get over a foot of snow! Yuck! I hope they’re wrong.

    Good for you for blogging all through November. 🙂

  7. amy says:

    Oh Oscar Wilde can bite me. The weather, especially when it does THAT, is fascinating.

    Here is a wishy for all of you in your house to NOT GET SICK.

    WISH!

  8. Danielle says:

    Wow. That was a fast drop in temperature.

    i try not to blog about the weather either, because it does seem rather dull, but every now and then something drastic happens and I just can’t resist. So poo on Oscar Wilde.

    Congratulations on making it all the way through the month! I didn’t doubt that you would, but still it is impressive. So, are you going to keep it up in the sense that you are going to post most days? or every other day? Just wondering if it has spurred you on, or something.

  9. CircusKelli says:

    I totally blog about the weather… especially when it’s that drastic.

    Two days ago, it was 63 degrees. This morning, we woke up to 6″ of snow.

  10. kalki says:

    So is Deputy Dad having surgery today, or is the pain still (magically) gone? I’m thinking about y’all.

  11. Annejelynn says:

    Excellent quote from Oscar Wilde!

Leave a Reply

