I was searching for a clever, stone-related quote to use as a title…

…when I came upon this frightening gem:

Gout produces calculus in the kidney… the patient has frequently to entertain the painful speculation as to whether gout or stone be the worst disease. Sometimes the stone, on passing, kills the patient, without waiting for the gout.
–Thomas Sydenham 

Needless to say, I ended my search there.

I just got off the phone with Deputy Dad.  His dad drove him to the urologist today.  DD saw his regular doc yesterday, and the doc got him an appointment with the urologist, who is an hour and a half away, but was the closest one who could see DD today.  The girls get out of school at 2:00 today (today’s early dismissal begins their Thanksgiving holiday), and Miss Attitude has her pneumonia follow-up appointment with the pediatrician this afternoon in [larger town an hour away, where we go for shopping and pediatrician appointments]; so, even though I felt like I needed to be there with Deputy Dad, I instead stayed in town so I can take care of the kiddos and get Miss Attitude to her doctor appointment.  I’m so thankful Father-In-Law was off work today and could drive Deputy Dad to the doctor.

The kidney stone has grown.  Saturday’s morning‘s CT scan showed the stone was 5mm.  It is now 7mm, and is somehow “hung up” on Deputy Dad’s…pelvis? or…muscle? or…something.  Anyway, it likely won’t pass on its own.

Deputy Dad is now scheduled for surgical removal of the stone on Friday, December 1st.

And now I’m even more of a nervous wreck than I already was.

9 Responses to I was searching for a clever, stone-related quote to use as a title…

  1. CircusKelli says:

    Oh no… I don’t know what to say, love… take care. Take it easy. Good wishes to all of you. Hang in there!

  2. psumommy says:

    My goodness…well, having it removed, while being a huge pain, has to be better than passing it, right? I just hope it goes quickly and the recovery is easy!

  3. Yikes! Definitely thoughts and prayers for all of you.

  4. kalki says:

    All I can think of is ‘a rolling stone gathers no moss’ and that really doesn’t make any sense whatsoever. There’s also ‘a stone’s throw’ but, again, it’s just random and not at all clever. I give up.

    So basically DD is getting a kidney stone C-section? Like, rather than grunt and moan and push the thing out, he needs surgical intervention. From his perspective, this could be a good thing. I hope all goes well, and I’ll surely be thinking about all of you.

  5. Squirl says:

    You poor dears. I’m sorry this is happening to you. You have so much going and certainly don’t need this. I hope everything goes well. I’ll be thinking about you, too.

  6. Why this stuff happens around the holidays is some sick joke of the universe. I am sorry to hear this. Hang tight, you guys.

  7. Danielle says:

    Well crap! That is a long time to wait. I hope he isn’t in agony until Dec 1st and that they gave him some good meds. Poor guy.

    And poor you. It’ll be okay though. I’ll be saying special prayers for DD and all of you.

  8. Torrie says:

    I’m so sorry. 😦

  9. […] Throughout the day, I whispered prayers for Susie, for CircusKelli and her grandparents, for Kit as she recovers from surgery, and for Deputy Dad and his upcoming surgery. […]

Leave a Reply

