Just when we thought it couldn’t get any loonier…

In the old-fashioned language that marks the Traditional version, the groom is reminded that “girls” need “clothes and food and tender happiness and frills, a pan, a comb, perhaps a cat” — and is asked to provide them all.

The bride, in turn, is told that “young men are free and may forget” their promises.


(Click quote to read full story.)

If I roll my eyes any harder, my eyeballs will be permanently lodged in the back of my skull.

12 Responses to Just when we thought it couldn’t get any loonier…

  1. Danielle says:

    I READ that TOO and was astounded (hence the shouting) at the “young men are free and may forget their promises”. What kind of crap is that??!?

    scary shit.

  2. Oh gag! I can get my own damned cat, thank you very much.

  3. kalki says:

    Well, we don’t men to provide them, but I do agree that clothes and a cat are essential to a girl’s happiness. 🙂

    Seriously, though, this makes me want to slap someone.

  4. kalki says:

    (And I am so bothered by this that I can’t even type properly. ARGH.)

  5. Kit says:

    *F* me runnin’…………..what a crock!

  6. Susie says:

    I need the clothes and the food, and am very intrigued by the tender happiness. heh heh.

  7. Squirl says:

    lol Kranki!

    As I read the article, all I could think of was that Katie should not even think about marrying this jerk.

    Have your eyeballs come back into place yet?

  8. Bill says:

    *gag*
    *retch*
    Sorry. Reflexes kick in when I see his picture.

  9. LadyBug says:

    It really is scary shit, Danielle. And the fact that it’s spouted as part of a religious doctrine is even scarier.

    Hee, Kranki! I’ll bet you and Yoshi could take on L. Ron Hubbard!

    You are crackin’ me up, kalki. Hee!

    My sentiments exactly, Kit.

    I second that emotion, Heather.

    Hee, Susie! You deserve some tender happiness, hon.

    They still roll involuntarily every time I think of this story, Squirl.

    I’m with you on that one, Bill.

  10. psumommy says:

    Oh, good- Tom has an ‘out’ written right into his vows, so he can have his marriage and his extracurricular activities, too.

    I’m just waiting for them to come out and say ha HA! You all are so silly, to believe that people actually believe that we’d follow any of this! Silly you!

  11. LadyBug says:

    I was thinking the same thing, psumommy! I can’t believe anyone would take that crap seriously. It’s almost written like it was meant to be a joke!

Leave a Reply

