You know how I love my lists

~ I spent this morning in the Emergency Room with Deputy Dad, whose kidneys decided to get stoned again. Today’s visit wasn’t as bad as the last time, since we were fairly certain we knew what was going on. Even so, any amount of time spent in an E.R. is too much, in my book.

~ Henry won’t eat. He won’t drink milk. He won’t eat puppy food. He won’t eat puppy food soaked in milk. I finally found some Puppy Formula at Wal-Mart, when I went to fill Deputy Dad’s prescriptions, and I managed to get Henry to eat a little; but he wouldn’t take much, and I’m a nervous wreck over this puppy business. It’s like having a freaking newborn in the house, with the worrying and the sleepless nights and the OH MY GOD WHAT HAVE I GOTTEN MYSELF INTO.

~ Miss Attitude’s soccer team won their game this morning. Deputy Dad and I missed the game, since we were still at the E.R., but the in-laws made sure Miss Attitude got there. Times like today, I’m so thankful we live so close to them.

~ The Drama Queen’s (4th, 5th, & 6th grade) football team – the one she cheers on, that is – lost their game tonight, two games into the playoffs … … and all the moms guiltily breathed a sigh of relief that the season is finally over, and our Saturday nights are free once again.

~ Super Boy is making slow but steady progress with his Speech Therapy. I would REALLY love to just have him wake up one morning and be talking exactly as an almost-29-month-old toddler should be…but it’s just a slow process. He’s picked up a lot more words, and has even started experimenting with short sentences in the last couple weeks. (The very first sentence – “Mom had bath” – he said just after dumping an entire cup of water on me when I was bathing him.) His current favorite word, of course is, PUPPY! PuppyPuppyPuppyPuppyPUPPY! Heh.

~ I’m exhausted. It’s been one hell of a long day. I think I’ll head for bed now.

~ Dammit. I guess what I mean is, I’ll try to feed Henry again, and THEN I’ll go to bed. Sigh.

10 Responses to You know how I love my lists

  1. Sounds like Super Boy is the same age as my little monkey, and speaking about the same amount, too. Feel free to drop by my blog if you want to compare notes sometime.

  2. CircusKelli says:

    Oh Darlin… I’m sorry to hear about all of the ‘shtuff’ that is going on in your house these days. Super Boy’s words will come, I promise. Little by little… it’ll happen.

    Big hugs to you. If there is anything I can do, please let me know.

    Love you.

  3. Belle says:

    Just here via nablopomo. I’ve been there, done that with the kids and their sports and playoffs, etc. Sorry to hear about Deputy Dad; hope he feels better soon! But yay for Super Boy’s progress 🙂 Best of luck with the puppy……it IS like having a newborn in the house again.

    I really like your site 🙂

  4. momo says:

    Henry is making me squeal uncontrollably because of how precious he is. Eeee!

  5. Danielle says:

    Awww poor widdle Henry. Hopefully if he gets hungry enough, he’ll eat. Does the vet have any recommendations? I recall that my neighbors once with a baby kitten wiped it down with a damp/wet washcloth to simulate the mother grooming it, and that was supposed to help them digest food better. I don’t know if dogs are the same… but maybe the vet would know.

    Sorry to hear about DD’s health and your trip to the ER. Thank goodness you know what to watch for.

    And I hope superboy continues well with his therapy and speech progression. How adorable that he is all about the puppy words.

  6. LadyBug says:

    Hello and welcome, Country Mouse. I’ll be stopping by your place shortly.

    Hugs to you, too, mrtl.

    Thank you so much for your support and encouragement, CircusKelli. It means the world to me. Love you, too, hon.

    Hello and welcome, Belle. And thanks!

    Hee. Thanks, Momo.

    Henry is eating better today, Danielle, thanks. We were prepared to take him back to his Mama for a few days if he wasn’t.

  7. […] Long story short (too late!), the fire department got the fire out quickly. It had started inside the back panel of the refrigerator. There was very little damage to the wall, but the fridge is certainly shot. The fire department even moved the fridge out of the house for her. I helped her empty the perishables into a couple ice chests, and she and K left for her mom’s house about 6:10. The Drama Queen and Miss Attitude had woken up at 5:45 during all the commotion, and Super Boy woke at 6:15. I had purposely let Deputy Dad sleep; he needed as much rest as he could get after yesterday’s chaos. […]

  8. amy says:

    “mom had bath”- cute sentence!

    Ai Yai Yai ladybug what a saturday! And i just read about the fridge fire too. you poor thing!

    Gawd, I hope Big Boy’s appt goes okay!

Leave a Reply

