You know you’re chock-full of Momness when…(Part II)

…you find yourself looking forward to your dentist appointment, because it’s the closest thing to “me time” you’ve seen in months.

19 Responses to You know you’re chock-full of Momness when…(Part II)

  1. Bill says:

    (wandering around the streets of NaBloPoMo)
    That *is* extreme. 😉
    On the plus side, there’s maybe a chocolate eating connection here…

  2. Squirl says:

    That’s pretty bad. I hope there was nothing terrible that had to happen there. 🙂

  3. momopeche says:

    I think going to the dentist is actually very relaxing! All that soft kenny g (crap, but calming), squeay clean chlorine smell, and the theraputic humming of that drill.

    Until it hits a nerve in your gums.

    But overall, enjoyable!

  4. Ah, sista, you need a spa appointment.

  5. Ms.Karen says:

    Yes, that defines Momness quite well. Personally, I’m a big fan of the “social grocery shopping hour” where I take a car-less friend grocery shopping and end up buying waay too much food for the week.

    Um, can they make the type on this thing any smaller? I mean, I can still see it and everything…

  6. psumommy says:

    Oh, yeah…definitely right there with you!

  7. Sasha says:

    Ha! The dentist was my ‘me time’ yesterday…I can hardly wait for next week’s extraction!

  8. cadiz12 says:

    hope it’s more about relaxing than trying to make smalltalk with someone’s fingers all up in your mouth.

  9. CircusKelli says:

    Hugs to you, love. I wish I could help you get more me time… a conference in Miami, perhaps?

  10. Danielle says:

    I love how you’ve found the humor in the situation.

    If you can’t cry, laugh. 🙂

    Hope you get a little more time to yourself in the upcoming weeks.

  11. LadyBug says:

    Hello and welcome, Bill! And hey, who told you about my chocolate habit? 😉

    Well, Squirl, it was Stage 3 of my root canal. Not much fun at all.

    It is a bit relaxing, momopeche, especially the part where they leave me alone for a bit while they wait for the nitrous oxide to kick in. 🙂

    That sounds heavenly, Kranki. You know any place that does that for free?

    🙂 – for Summer.

    Hello and welcome, Ms.Karen. I just recently switched to this template, and didn’t know at the time that the comment font was SO very tiny. I’m thinking of switching again, for that very reason, but I REALLY like the page layout, so…I just don’t know.

    I had a feeling you’d empathize, psumommy.

    Hello and welcome, Sasha. Now that IS sad…looking forward to an extraction. Maybe we moms need to start faking dentist appointments, so we can get a little “me time” without having to go through the real thing!

    Very little small talk was made, cadiz12. Hee.

    Ooooh, CircusKelli, that sounds fabulous! Umm…know where I can get me a free plane ticket? And, umm, free hotel accomodations?

    Thanks, Danielle. And yeah, laughing to keep from crying is key.

  12. Susie says:

    Even with one kid, I can relate. My dentist’s office is in an old house. Actually, everything about it is old and rundown, but he’s really nice and really cheap, relatively speaking. And ‘my’ chair there faces a huge window that looks out on the closest thing we have here to a mountain. It’s actually quite lovely. So as long as I’m just having a cleaning, checkup, and such, it’s a really nice place to be 🙂

    I am GLAD you’re doing the daily blogging thing. Go, LadyBug!

  13. amy says:

    Yup. I love dentist and doctor and hair and all that stuff. Sitting in a chair and getting one on one attention is THE BEST.

  14. sheryl says:

    I feel like that, too, and I don’t even have kids.
    There is something wrong with me, obviously.

  15. candace says:

    Mine is Target time. Not so much the dentist. The dentist’s office is a bad, bad place. Bad.

  16. Annejelynn says:

    um, it’s time for mommie to GET A BREAK ~ some time off!?! Bribe your man with um, some kind of special play for a couple hours away, in exchange…

  17. CircusKelli says:

    You know, darlin… I wish I did. 🙂

    And hey, I’ll get some “me time” next week, and so will the girls! Woo!

    Actually, right now, they’re busy with coloring and watching 1 vs 100 on television. Perhaps it’s time for me to sneak upstairs for some me time of my own… maybe plucking my eyebrows or painting my toe nails.

  18. LadyBug says:

    Wow, Susie, your dentist’s office DOES sound relaxing! And thanks for the encouragement, hon.

    I think you hit the nail on the head, Amy. The real attraction is getting the attention for a change, instead of trying to split our attention between the kids, the husband, and the eleventy million things that need doing.

    I think what may be “wrong” with you, Sheryl – and this is just a guess, of course – is that you’re so busy giving of yourself to others, you forget to take care of YOU.

    My dentist isn’t too bad, Candace. I’m really thankful for that. Sounds like you’ve had some rough experiences.

    I wouldn’t have to bribe my man, Annejelynn; he’s actually really supportive. It’s just that the time and the money aren’t there right now, for Mom to have any “me time.”

    I certainly hope you had some time to yourself tonight, Circus Kelli. Can’t wait to hear what you’ve got planned for next week!

Leave a Reply

