The Bandwagon Pulls Out at Midnight

Last weekend I suddenly had an anxiety attack over NaBloPoMo because, holy hell, posting every day in the month of November probably means weekends, too.

And I thought good LORD, what have I gotten myself into.

But then I remembered why I signed up. In an email to a dear friend a couple weeks ago, I said,

I’m challenging myself to do this simply because I think it will be fun. And because, technically, any sort of drivel counts as a post. So I don’t have to have 30 straight days of lengthy, weighty subject matter. Just a little bit of me, a little bit at a time.

So I’m committing myself to having fun with this, and not stressing over it.

It’s not too late to join, if you’re interested. The Official NaBloPoMo page is here, and you can add your URL to the list of participants by commenting on this post. Signup deadline is tonight at 11:59 PM.

If you’re not interested in committing yourself to posting every day, Mrs. Kennedy offers this alternative:

If you don’t want to participate as a NaBloPoMo blogger then your mission is simply to delurk and comment on one of the sites [listed on the NaBloPoMo page], or another of your favorite blogs, once a day in the month of November as a show of support. This will also prove that you can read and that you think blogging is nice.

(Can you tell I’ve recently discovered the joy of the block quote?)

That sounds easy enough, doesn’t it?

For my part, I’m committing to posting here AND commenting on at least one of the NaBloPoMo participants’ sites every day this month.

Good luck, everyone!

15 Responses to The Bandwagon Pulls Out at Midnight

  1. psumommy says:

    Exactly! Fun! Short! Anything will do, even a ‘hello, I’m still doing this DARN IT’ post. I’m all excited to read a full month of Ladybug!

  2. sheryl says:

    I signed up!
    yikes!

    But we can spur each other on.

  3. Wow! I just don’t have the energy (or enough of a life) to blog everday. But I’ll come visit you.

  4. Go ladybug. I’m behind you 99.25948%!

    Must.not.live.on.Internet.

  5. kalki says:

    You go, girl!! πŸ™‚

  6. cadiz12 says:

    i know the feeling. the day i signed up, i had about four post ideas in my head.
    tonight when i’m sitting down to write one, they all seemed to have fallen out when i wasn’t looking and i’ve got nothing. we’ll all support each other.
    hang in there!

  7. Holly says:

    Hi! I’m just insane enough to have signed up for this AND NaNoWriMo. And so far, so good – I’m keeping up. Check for a pulse at the end of the month!

  8. Danielle says:

    Yay! As you know, I’m unofficially going to try to do it, but that is as committed as I’m willing to get at this point.

    I’m looking forward to having something of yours to read each day!

  9. LadyBug says:

    Thanks, Psumommy. I’m looking forward to yours as well!

    Ooooh, you mean we get to wear SPURS, Sheryl? ROWR. πŸ™‚

    You could do thirty days of Yoshi costumes, Kranki! Hee. Kidding.

    I guess I’ll just have to find .74052% of my support somewhere else, Undercover Mutha. πŸ˜›

    I’m workin’ it, kalki! Hee.

    Thanks, cadiz12! You hang in there, too. I’ll be by to visit your place today.

    You are a brave woman, Holly. I’ll be visiting your place today as well. I’ll check for a pulse while I’m there.

    Thanks, Danielle. And I’m looking forward to reading more of you this month, too.

  10. honestyrain says:

    block quotes are killer, dude. i adore them. and ya, this isn’t stress. heart surgery is stress. this is nothing and you can totally skip a day without being poked by a sharp stick. it’s easy. πŸ™‚

  11. LadyBug says:

    I’m glad to know the poking stick will be a dull one, honestyrain. πŸ™‚

  12. Squirl says:

    We could talk about stress if you want, but let’s keep this fun. I’ll do my best come ’round and visit. πŸ™‚

  13. LadyBug says:

    And I’ll look forward to those visits, Squirl, but you just do what you can do, okay? No stress or pressure from me. Love and hugs to you, my friend.

  14. amy says:

    Your block quotes are HAWT, ladybug.

    have fun with it, even if you did a wee ‘chock momness’ post everyday, that would be just great.

  15. LadyBug says:

    Thanks for the support, Amy!

Leave a Reply

