The longest week in the history of weeks

This has been a fantastically shitty week. I’ve not posted about it, because I can’t seem to put the right words in the right order…so I’m just closing my eyes (literally! – you’ll forgive the typos, right?) and typing.

* Monday morning found me standing at the front desk of the pediatrician’s office on the phone with the kids’ insurance company, crying and (loudly) saying things like, “WHY did you terminate the coverage? I’ve talked to at least THREE DIFFERENT PEOPLE in your office in the past couple months, and EACH ONE told me the coverage would NOT be terminated. And now, here I am, standing in the doctor’s office WITH MY SICK CHILD, and they’re telling me the coverage is terminated.” and then (even more loudly) saying things like, “Okay, if YOU can’t do anything, then LET ME SPEAK WITH SOMEONE WHO CAN. I need to talk to someone who can FIX THIS; if you can’t do it, LET ME TALK TO SOMEONE WHO CAN.”

No one could.1

* Deputy Dad is back on night shift, leaving me with the majority of the Getting Everyone Where They’re Supposed to Be When They’re Supposed to Be There; and I’d be lying if I said I’m not totally getting my ass kicked feeling completely overwhelmed. For example, Wednesday afternoon went like this:

3:25 – Pick up Miss Attitude from school. (The Drama Queen stayed after school for cheerleading practice.)
3:40 – Pick up Big Boy from sitter.
3:50 – Arrive home, get Miss Attitude ready for her first soccer practice, change Big Boy’s diaper.
4:15 – Leave home to pick up The Drama Queen from cheerleading practice.
4:30 – Drop off The Drama Queen at gymnastics.
4:45 – Rush back home to grab Miss Attitude’s forgotten inhaler and Gatorade.
5:00 – Take Miss Attitude to soccer practice.
5:30 – Pick up The Drama Queen from gymnastics.
6:00 – Pick up Miss Attitude from soccer practice.
6:15 – Pick up dinner on the way home, where I was faced with feeding three kids, bathing Big Boy, keeping the girls on task through their showers and bedtime routines, and getting all the kids in bed.

Part of me likes all the busy-ness. I think I feel better when we’re all so busy – there’s simply no time for brooding when I’m running around at breakneck speed. But it IS a bit overwhelming, especially if anything goes wrong and throws a kink in the works. And keeping up with everybody’s schedules – work schedules, school schedules, doctor appointments, speech therapy, soccer practice, soccer games, cheerleading practice, football games, volleyball practice, volleyball games, and whatever else comes up along the way – is STRESSING ME OUT.

* I worry constantly about Big Boy’s speech delay. He’s had three therapy sessions so far – two with the developmental therapist and one with the speech therapist. I know it’s really too soon to be expecting a major improvement; he’s still getting to know the therapists. But, dammit, I want to hear my boy talk. He has added a few new words and phrases, including the heart-burstingly awesome phrase, “MY Mama”…but I just want so badly for him to be speaking as well as he should be.

* Did I mention I have found myself somehow signed up as the assistant coach of The Drama Queen’s volleyball team? Did I mention I am significantly overweight and not at all athletically inclined? Did I mention I am, apparently, a total schmuck?

* I’ve had a horrible, pounding, eyeball-searing headache all week long.

* Last night I dreamed about unpaid bills, sick kids, The Drama Queen’s school supplies (a whole nother story), and Big Boy’s speech delay. I’m even stressed out in my sleep.

Here’s hoping this coming week (which starts in about 32 minutes, my time) is better than this past week.

1The kids have had health insurance through a state-sponsored program. They’ve had the coverage for five or six years now, and it has been a godsend, especially with Miss Attitude’s asthma (her asthma prevention medications alone would run us over $500 a month without insurance). For some reason I have yet to figure out – and for which no one there can give me a clear explanation, they terminated our coverage effective August 31st and processed our renewal as a new application, with insurance coverage effective October 1st. Which means, until then, all doctor visits ($80 just to walk in the door) and prescriptions (Monday’s alone were $90 – and I only filled HALF of one of them.) come out of our pockets. And, of course, Miss Attitude is still having asthma trouble, and Big Boy started running fever today.

21 Responses to The longest week in the history of weeks

  1. marcia says:

    The trouble is, no-one tells a kid what the timetable is for learning to talk. They all do it when they’re ready. As long as big boy is reasonably happy and obviously understands what is being said to him and is adding the odd word or so to his vocabulary then try not to worry so much. He’ll probably take off suddenly!

  2. Squirl says:

    I’m sorry it’s been so darned shitty for you. You sure are busy enough, you don’t need anybody throwing obstacles in your way.

    I hope Big Boy’s fever is down now, that Miss Attitude’s asthma calms down (you probably already know that coffee is an emergency treatment for asthma), and that your headache is gone.

    Love and hugs

  3. CircusKelli says:

    Oh sweetie… big hugs to you. I’m so sorry that your week has sucked eggs like that. I really hope this week is so much better for you.

    Love you.

  4. Danielle says:

    Eeeek! How very very difficult!

    The insurance part sounds completely stressful – especially with the asthma flare-up and fever.

    The running all around part sounds crazy. I’d be wiped out, without a doubt. I hope that this week is better for you.

    I send you a beeeeg hug and some virtual chocolate. Dark Dove Promises, of course. 😉

  5. LadyBug says:

    Hello and welcome, Marcia! And thank you for your encouragement.

    Love and hugs to you, too, Squirl.

    Thank you, Circus Kelli. Love you too, hon.

    Mmmm…Dark Dove Promises sound heavenly, Danielle.

  6. RzDrms says:

    i always pray for child(ren), yet i know it’s difficult. yet i still wish i had them. yet i know it’s a lot of work. yet… i’m lovin’ ya!

  7. sheryl says:

    ahhh it’s been one of those weeks for so any people, it seems. Makes my heart hurt. A bit.

    I sincerely hope the coming week is much more relaxed for you. Especially the insurance part – yeah, isn’t there something that can be done? Can we call them up and threaten them? Maybe one of your readers could call up as “your attorney” and get something done. (as was mentioned on Kranki’s blog this week)

    Let us know if we can help!
    xx ooo
    she

  8. kalki says:

    I have no idea if COBRA applies in this case, but I know it’s often what people turn to when they’re temporarily in between health insurance coverage. For what it’s worth…

    And a huge big whoppin’ hug to you.

  9. marcia says:

    Hi, England calling again!!

    I brought up two boys and a girl and they all do things at different rates. One of my boys didn’t walk until he was nearly 2

  10. It’s going to be okay. I’m going to find a job, you’re going to get insurance, and that boy is going to be talking so much you’ll want him to stop. Turn it over to God, girl. Put it in his hands. It’s too much for you and me to handle alone.

  11. Ern says:

    I’m composing a letter. I’ll cc it to you when I’m finished. It’s going to start something like this: Dear Week of September 18th: You BETTER not mess with Ladybug like last week did! Or I’m gonna hafta open a can o’ wupass.

  12. Lynn says:

    Ladybug, I wish I could grab you up and give you a great big hug! I know just how you feel. It can be so very, very hard. I’m sending my best good thoughts your way! You just keep on trying your best. It’s all we can do, but I think it’s usually enough.

  13. LadyBug says:

    It is difficult, Rzdrms. And I’m lovin’ you, too. 🙂

    I don’t think there’s anything that can be done, Sheryl, except just crossing fingers and hoping and praying we don’t have to make a trip to the doctor before October 1st. X’s & O’s to you too, dear.

    Thanks, kalki, but I don’t think COBRA would apply in this case; and if you’ve ever had to pay COBRA premiums before (I have), it’s almost never worth it…especially since the kids will have the coverage again October 1st.

    Hello again, Marcia! I have just the opposite – 2 girls and a boy, and I do know what you mean about them doing things at their own speeds.

    It IS too much, Undercover Mutha. And I’m praying for you, hon.

    Your letter made me smile, Ern. 🙂 Thanks.

    Thank you, Lynn. You’re a sweetheart.

  14. psumommy says:

    Many, many hugs, Ladybug.I know you know this already…but sometimes its good to hear from someone else…it will get better.

  15. LadyBug says:

    Thanks, psumommy. I know it will, but yeah, it does help to hear it from someone else.

    (HUG) to you, too, Torrie.

  16. Oh crap. What a week. I REALLY hope it gets better soon.

  17. cat says:

    LadyB, I feel your pain (I do, I do, I sooooo DO). I’m totally kicking last week’s ass for you. I am! Don’t try and stop me!

    Hugs.

  18. LadyBug says:

    Thanks, Kranki.

    I won’t try and stop you, cat. You go right ahead and kick last week’s ass. In fact, while you’re at it, kick it in the nuts for me, too!

  19. […] One sprained ankle and No medical insurance That’s perfect timing […]

  20. Homestead says:

    Skip the bathing…. Baths are over-rated…. it’ll shave…… minutes of your day…. hee-hee.

Leave a Reply

