Severe

Each time I pass
a mirror and see
my furrowed brow

I think
I look
exactly like the image I imagine
when an author describes
a woman’s countenance
as severe.

19 Responses to Severe

  1. cristin says:

    hiya darlin’ (shy wave)

    back
    missed you
    thanks for always stopping bye to check on me
    MEGA update coming
    smooches

  2. 😑

    What on Earth is Poseurtry Corner?

  3. Summer says:

    Love, love, love, love, love this.

    (Give yourself some credit, woman: ain’t no poseurtry here.)

  4. kalki says:

    I cannot help but play a word game with severe, trying to find other words in it:

    verse
    serve
    ever
    sever
    eve
    seer
    rev
    see
    veer

    I really want to make ‘reverse’ and ‘revere’ out of it, but I need another R.

  5. LadyBug says:

    Hello, Cristin! So good to see you here. I’ll be looking forward to that update.

    My scrawls are not fit to call poetry, Undercover Mutha, so I’ve labeled them poseurtry.

    You are too kind, Summer. Thank you.

    ::hands kalki an R::
    There ya go, Sweetie. Have a blast.

  6. kalki says:

    Like your tagline, by the way. πŸ™‚

  7. Squirl says:

    I didn’t get to be the first to comment on your tagline. Hang on while I go pout in the corner for a few minutes.

    Okay, done pouting. πŸ™‚

    Love you!

  8. CircusKelli says:

    I LOVE that tagline! So true!

    Ack, Sweetie… I know that look. I’ve seen that look in my own mirror. Hmm… maybe we have defective mirrors.

  9. LadyBug says:

    Thanks, kalki! πŸ™‚

    Love you, too, Squirl.

    That MUST be it, CircusKelli! It’s the MIRRORS, not the MOTHERS! πŸ™‚

  10. Kit says:

    Yeah, I know that look.

    Several years ago, I saw a woman (hubby’s ex-wife, to be exact) who’s countenance portrayed a very bitchy, unhappy woman.

    I vowed to consciously make my lips into a smile…….regardless of the situation; my thoughts being….if I do it enough, it’ll stick that way.

    WRONG!

    I look in the mirror and see exactly what you see…..SEVERE.

    I’m convinced it has to do with our worrying, sweetie; we’ve got to “Let Go and Let God”…

    You know?

    Love you,

    Me

  11. dawn says:

    Hmmmm. Na, you’re wrong. You’re beautiful!

  12. Squirl says:

    I just read an article the other day about a woman who suffered for a long time from depression. A doctor recommended Botox. She had the Botox in the furrows in her brow. According to the article, her depression lifted when she wasn’t able to furrow her brow anymore. Sounds weird. I wonder if it really works?

    Smiling really does release endorphins, though. That has been proved. Even if you don’t feel like smiling, it still works. I hope you feel up to trying some smiles. πŸ™‚

  13. LadyBug says:

    I’m sure a lot of it IS the worrying, Kit. It’s just that lately there are so MANY things to worry about.

    And YOU are incredibly sweet, Dawn. πŸ™‚

    That’s interesting, Squirl. I honestly think my headaches might be better if I couldn’t furrow my brow. I catch myself with it furrowed frequently throughout the day, and have to consciously relax those brow muscles.

  14. Girl.A says:

    Each time I pass
    a mirror I screech
    a thorough “OW!”

    I think
    I poop
    factly, like the scrimmage I chagrin
    when my doctor proscribes
    this woman’s incontinence
    as severe.

  15. Girl.A…BWAHAHAHAHAHA!

    Love you lots, LadyBug. Sooner or later, we all gotta feel better, right?

    Well, except the poor, dead monkey…

  16. LadyBug says:

    Girl.A, FOR SHAME. And, hee!

    Well, Bucky, we’ll always have Paris. And she has a monkey. Although I think I read that it attacked her a week or two ago.
    It must be a very good judge of character.

  17. Danielle says:

    “it must be a very good judge of character”

    HA! You really got me smiling with that one.

    endorphins! πŸ˜€

  18. Amber says:

    Oh gosh, all of you are cracking me up today!!

    The first thing I thought about when I read your poem was:
    Furrowed brow, severe= Severus Snape.

    If I haven’t already admitted it: I’m obsessed.

    Now, onto real life.

    πŸ˜€

    Now look at it this way, at least you don’t have “Woeful Countenance”.

    Love you.

    P.S. Did you notice the little smiley face at the bottom of your blog? It’s VERY tiny and in the lefthand corner at the very bottom where the lines outline your page.

  19. LadyBug says:

    Danielle, you go girl, with your endorphins! πŸ™‚

    I have noticed that smiley before, Amber. It’s a WordPress thing. I’ve seen it on a lot of their pages.

Leave a Reply

