In lieu of a newsletter…

Dear Big Boy,

Because I am a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad wretch of a mother, I didn’t get your 19-month newsletter written. But I need to note a few things, so I don’t forget…

You can now say “moooo” when we ask you what the cow says. This comes in addition to being able to grunt answer “oo-oo” when we ask you what the puppy dog says, and growling your adorable, guttural growl when we ask you what the bear says.

You can baby sign eat, drink, baby, book, hat, bird, cat, fish, apple, banana, baby, more, and telephone; and you have your very own sign for band-aid (touching your index finger to the back of your other hand).

BigBoyReclinerReading

You can point to your head, eyes, ears, nose, mouth, tummy, arm, hand, finger, leg, foot, toe, bo-bo, and wee-wee.

BigBoyBathtubReading

You’ve already started showing signs of the Terrible Twos, which we totally expected, since both of your sisters hit their Terrible Twos around 18 months. So you’ve started throwing temper tantrums – which, for you, means screaming at the top of your lungs and holding the scream out louder and longer than any human being should be capable of – whenever you don’t get what you want. Which is pretty often these days, since what you usually want is to have something you’re not allowed to have, or to climb somewhere dangerous enough to lead to head injury, death and/or dismemberment. But since you’re our third child, we’ve gotten surprisingly good at ignoring those little (and not-so-little) tantrums; and, hopefully, you’ll soon figure out they’re not getting you anywhere.

BigBoyTantrum

Just tonight, you started nodding and saying “yes.” I asked you if you wanted a cookie, and you nodded a very exaggerated nod and said, “ess.”

And my heart burst.

I kept asking you questions I knew you’d answer “yes” to, just to see (and hear) you do it again. It is absolutely the cutest, sweetest thing I’ve ever seen.

Surprisingly enough, you haven’t started saying “no” yet, although you do shake your head “no” emphatically when the need arises. You’re getting better and better at letting us know what you want (and what you don’t want). We do try to “pick our battles” and let you have what you want whenever it’s feasible…even if what you want at the moment is to wear your pajamas, houseshoes, flannel jacket, and fleece hat all at the same time and in the house, resulting in an ensemble that definitely makes a statement. And that statement is, “When Hollywood makes a movie about my life, my part will be played by Steve Buscemi.”

BigBoySteveBuscemi1

BigBoySteveBuscemi2

Your sense of humor has really developed over the past few weeks. You purposely do things you know everyone will think are funny, and you LOVE IT when you get a laugh.

BigBoyHamper

You like to tickle us – basically, you wiggle your fingers in the general direction of Daddy, The Drama Queen, Miss Attitude, or me, and say, “ticka, ticka, ticka,” – and we can’t help but laugh, you’re just so darned cute.

Big Boy, I don’t know what on earth I ever did to deserve to have such an awesome little person in my life – this heartbreakingly beautiful little boy with the sweet disposition, this tender little creature who can take me from miserable to euphoric in 0.2 seconds just by smiling that angelic smile or touching my hair – but I sure am glad I did it. I don’t know what we ever did without you.

BigBoySmiling

I love you, Little Man.

Love,
Mama

Leave a Reply

