…and we’d teach all the babies this tune *UPDATED*

(Credit where credit is due: This post was inspired by Circus Kelli’s CD list.)

When I was pregnant with The Drama Queen (gasp!) nine years ago, Natalie Merchant appeared on the Rosie O’Donnell show, promoting the CD “For Our Children Too!”, a collection of children’s songs performed by big name artists, which benefits the Pediatric AIDS Foundation. Natalie Merchant sang her contribution to the CD, a waltz-like lullaby called “Come Take a Trip in My Airship.” I was so enamored with this song, I decided then and there that I MUST have that CD so I could learn that song and sing it to my baby. I had the CD within a week. The lyrics (Click on the link to sample the song on Amazon’s site.):

I once loved a sailor
Once, a sailor loved me
But he was not a sailor
Who sailed on the wide blue sea
He sailed in an airship
Sailed like a bird on a wing
And every evening at midnight
He would come to my window and sing

Come take a trip in my airship
Come sail away to the stars
We’ll travel to Venus
We’ll sail away to Mars
Noone will see while we’re kissing
Noone will know as we swoon
So come take a trip in my airship
And we’ll visit the man in the moon

One night, while sailing away from the crowds
We passed through the Milky White Way
While idly drifting, watching the clouds
He asked if I’d name the day
Just by the Dipper, I gave him my heart
The sun shone on our honeymoon
We swore to each we never would part
And we’d teach all the babies this tune

Come take a trip in my airship
Come sail away to the stars
We’ll travel to Venus
We’ll sail away to Mars
Noone will see while we’re kissing
Noone will know as we swoon
So come take a trip in my airship
And we’ll visit the man in the moon

I’ve mentioned this briefly before, but did you know if you sing the same one or two lullabies to a baby from the time he’s born (or in utero, even), that singing (or even humming) one of those songs will often have an almost instantaneous calming effect on the baby? It’s true. I’ve sung this song to all three of my children, though it worked best with Big Boy*. When he was younger, I could sing it from the driver’s seat of the car when he started fussing in the back seat, and he would calm down almost instantly, often going to sleep. This song will always make me think of rocking and cuddling my babies.

* Updated to add: “Come Take a Trip in My Airship” is Big Boy’s naptime lullaby. I sing “Brahm’s Lullaby” at bedtime. When Deputy Dad is on naptime/bedtime duty, I think he usually sings “The Dance”.

Leave a Reply

