Stuff Portrait Day – Just under the wire

I don’t usually participate in Stuff Portrait Day, for the same reasons I don’t participate in the other “themed” days: (1) I just don’t have time for that many additional commitments, and (2) trying to make time for those commitments would make this blog feel like a burden, and I decided long ago that if blogging stopped being fun and started feeling like a burden, I’d stop.

BUT! This Stuff Portrait Day, with its delicious 80s theme, sounded like so much fun, I just had to jump on the proverbial bandwagon.

Please note: I’m typing fast – fingers are flying – to try to get this thing posted under the wire, so you’ll just have to ignore any typos.

First up: Something from the 80s you can’t let go of.

I didn’t take a lot of stuff with me when I moved out of my mom and step-dad’s house years and years ago, but I couldn’t leave behind my yearbooks or academic and band awards. (Yes, I was a band nerd. No, I never went to band camp.)
SPD2005-0715-3

Second: A picture of you from the 80s.

I’ve never posted a picture of myself here; so, to make up for depriving you of seeing my lovely mug all this time, here’s an overdose of the 80s LadyBug:
SPD2005-0715-1
Question: What is with the disembodied head picture??

Lastly: A CD or movie you have from the 80s.

CD? What is this CD you speak of? In the 80s, we had CASSETTE TAPES, which we played in our super-cool WALKMANS, thankyouverymuch.
SPD2005-0715-2
Yeah, these were the only tapes I could find. I know I’ve got a stash of them somewhere; I just can’t find them tonight. And yes, I listened to the Judds (shutup). And I will be forever grateful to the When Harry Met Sally Soundtrack for introducing me to the magic that is Harry Connick, Jr.

Special thanks to Kristine for this excuse to go through all this old stuff. The Drama Queen and Miss Attitude had SO much fun looking through my yearbooks (“Mom, what is WITH your hair?”)and photos (“Mom. You’re just…you’re just different.”) (Oh! And my favorite…The Drama Queen looks at my first grade picture, looks at me, looks at the picture, looks at me, then declares, “You have your eyes.” *snork*)
We certainly enjoyed our blast from the past!

Leave a Reply

