Blueberries, Part II

Along with blueberries, I bought strawberries and Cool Whip, thinking since it was Independence Day weekend, I’d make a simple, festive dessert. I layered blueberries/Cool Whip/sliced strawberries/Cool Whip/blueberries/Cool Whip/sliced strawberries, from the bottom up, so that the end result was a cool and yummy red-white-and-blue concoction. When I offered it to the girls for dessert, Miss Attitude said, “I just want some blueberries.”

LB: The blueberries are in there.

MA: Did you use ALL the blueberries for the dessert?

LB: Yes. But look! {Cheerful Mommy voice.} It’s got strawberries, and blueberries, and Cool Whip!

MA: I just want some plain blueberries.

LB: {Cheerful Mommy voice, turning to getting-impatient voice.} All the blueberries are in the dessert. Would you like to try it?

MA: No. I just want some plain blueberries.

LB: {Now very impatient, bordering on exasperated} [Miss Attitude], all. the blueberries. are in. the. dessert. Would you like to try it?

MA: No.

LB: Why can’t you just try it?

MA: Because that’s level two.

LB: WHAT?

MA: Plain blueberries is level one. And blueberries in the dessert is level two. And I’m not on level two yet.

Yeah. I gave up, after that. And – I could be wrong here – but I’m thinking maybe the child has played a few too many video games lately. Possibly.

Leave a Reply

