Out of the mouths of babes

As I was driving her to school this morning, The Drama Queen said, “Mom, wouldn’t it be funny if Adam and Eve were still alive?”

“Yeah, I suppose, but they’d be really, really old…”

“Yeah, they’d be HUMPBACKS. [Pause] Like the humpback of neutron-too. [Pause] I mean, the humpback of new-troo-doo. I mean….”

I finally caught on. “The Humpback of Notre Dame?” (Thinking, That doesn’t sound quite right…) “Wait! The HUNCHback of Notre Dame!”

I just don’t know where the kids get it, this mixing of words and phrases.

What?

Shut up.

Leave a Reply

