Full Disclosure

If our home was a high school — and it may as well be…Deputy Dad and I still laugh at farts, make poop jokes, and act like horny teenagers most of the time — Deputy Dad would be the jock, and I’d be the nerd. He likes watching football and scratching, and I like spending time on the computer. Other than checking email (every few months – can you imagine??) and occasionally searching the ‘net for something we can’t afford, Deputy Dad has very little interest in all things computer- and web-related. It makes sense, of course…his job is all about being tough and involves very little computer time, unless he’s writing reports; and my job is basically spending all day in front of the computer.

So it wasn’t until a couple weeks ago that I told him about this blog. I wasn’t hiding it from him or anything…I just knew he wouldn’t be that interested (and the fact that he never asked for the link after I told him pretty much attests to that). Here’s how it went:

Me: I have a blog.

Deputy Dad: Huh? [I forgot to mention he’s hard-of-hearing. Lots of ear infections as a child, or something.]

Me: I have a blog.

Deputy Dad: A what?

Me: [Frustrated sigh.] A BLOG.

Deputy Dad: A blog?

Me: Remember when I told you what a blog is? [See, I TOLD you he’s not web-savvy.]

Deputy Dad: No. What is it?

It went on like this for a little while, back-and-forth, me explaining, he disinterested. I don’t know why I even bothered to tell him, except that I didn’t want to feel like I was keeping a secret. Or maybe I wanted him to be interested in what I was writing. Maybe I’d hoped he might want to check out my blog, just to find out what I was telling the world about him. Hmm…if that was the case, it totally backfired.

Leave a Reply

