Baby Boy Six-Month Newsletter

Dear Baby Boy:

Last week (December 15th) you turned six months old. Happy half-birthday Little Man! I’ve been waiting to write your newsletter until after today’s six-month checkup. You weighed 18 lbs, 7 oz, and were 26 1/2 inches long. Daddy, the doctor and I discussed what a big boy you’re becoming and how perfect you are; you were happy and smiling, your usual charming self; and then it was time for your shots. Four of them. You screamed like……well, like someone was poking you with needles four. times. in. a row. It seemed like an eternity from the time the nurse gave you the first injection, until we could grab you up off the exam table and try to hug and kiss the pain away. Mommy and Daddy tried very hard to be brave, but it just hurt so much.

You’ve grown in leaps and bounds in the last month, Baby Boy. You’ve gone from rolling over to rolling over-and-over-and-over-and-over-and-over. You can also get on your tummy and turn yourself in any direction you want or even scoot yourself back and forth somewhat, further facilitating your ability to move your little baby body all over the place. It’s all very new and exciting, but here’s the problem: your Daddy and I have not yet baby-proofed the house. Now that you’ve found a way to get from Point A to Point B ALL BY YOURSELF, we’ve got to run around in a panic-induced hysteria, putting plastic thingies in the electrical sockets and locks on the cabinets before you decide to stick your tongue in an outlet or drink the Pine Sol. (Please don’t drink the Pine Sol, Son. I know it smells wonderfully fresh and piney, but Pine Sol costs money, and Mommy needs it for cleaning.)

A week before you turned six months, we fed you baby cereal for the first time. We had planned to wait until after the six-month mark to start any solid foods, but you were a HUNGRY little fella; and when you started eyeing the dogs like they were The Other White Meat, we knew we’d better get something a little more filling in that belly of yours. And you LOVED it. You just gobbled it up like you knew what you were doing, and now you’re eating cereal three times a day.

Once you got the hang of the cereal thing, we decided to start introducing fruits and vegetables. (“Fruits and veggies, meet Baby Boy. Baby Boy, meet the healthy stuff you’ll probably only eat as long as WE’VE got the spoon, or until you meet the arch nemesis – French Fries.”) Now, I am, apparently, a cruel and vindictive mommy; because for some reason I decided your very first non-cereal food would be……..avocado. (I giggle just thinking about it.) I was feeding you your cereal at suppertime; you got about halfway through, and I slipped you a bite of The Green Stuff. You stopped for a moment, but then carried on; so I was thinking, “Hey, maybe he actually likes it.” But after two or three more bites, you finally looked at me like, “What the……?” And Baby, you wrinkled up that adorable little nose of yours and you let me know that not only did you not like that yucky, cold, slimy, sinus-infection-looking, oh-my-god-what-were-you-thinking-MOM, green stuff; but you weren’t sure you’d ever trust me with that spoon again. I might have felt a little guilty if you hadn’t been so delightfully entertaining. In an effort to regain your trust, I gave you mashed banana a few days later; you seemed to like that better, but you still eyed me suspiciously before each bite.

Your doctor said your gums look like you might be teething. God help us. You’ve been chewing on everything and drooling like a toothless basset hound since you were 2 1/2 months old. If you’re just now really starting to teethe……well, I guess Daddy and I will have to form a bucket brigade to keep the drool from flooding the house.

In addition to the rolling, eating, chewing and drooling, here are a few of your favorite things: bounce-bounce-bouncing in your bouncy car (or anywhere else, for that matter); hugging, touching, watching, and playing with your sisters (and they adore the attention and are always happy to reciprocate); touching and pulling Mommy’s hair and earrings; pulling Daddy’s chest hair (ouch! Poor Daddy!); flirting with women everywhere we go (Now, really….what is UP with that? Can you please NOT do that in front of your Mommy? EVER? And you KNOW none of those women are good enough for you!); nursing; reading your naptime and bedtime books (reading…chewing…whatever); and generally being good-natured, absolutely adorable and utterly irresistible.

Baby Boy, as I sit here typing this on the eve of your first Christmas Eve, I want you to know how very much I love you and how thankful I am that God gave you to us. You are such a precious, precious baby boy; and you have absolutely filled our lives with joy.

I love you, my Sweet Baby, my Little Man, my Big Boy.

Love,
Mama

Comments are closed.

