Thankfulness, in Restrospect

Okay, so the kids have been sick, and the hubby’s been sick, and I’ve been sick, and I’ve been too busy, and I didn’t hand in my third grade essay titled “What I’m Thankful For,” which is grammatically incorrect anyway, it should be “Things for Which I am Thankful” or “Counting My Blessings” or “Oh, Dear Heavenly Father, Thank You that Thou Hast Blessed Me So” or some other such sentimentality. Forgive me. The dog ate my homework. Also the sun was in my eyes, and I was wasting too much time at Dooce.

Seriously though, I do have so very much for which to be thankful; and I am very truly grateful for the many, many blessings in my life, namely:

Deputy Dad, my sweet hubby, who is kind and hard-working, a wonderful, hands-on Daddy, and the kind of sweet, sweet, man who says things like, “You’re a terrific Mom” (even when I’m not being so terrific at that moment) and “You look great” (without my having to fish for a compliment).

The Drama Queen, my oh-so-very-grown-up seven-year-old-going-on-fifteen, who is smart and witty and makes me laugh, even when I’m TRYING not to, and who will always hold a special place in my heart as my firstborn.

Miss Attitude, my trying-to-be-very-grown-up six-year-old, who is very smart and cute and is exceptionally funny when she mimics her big sister and gets the pronunciation wrong and says something TOTALLY bizarre and hilarious, such as “Broccoli is A BOMB!”, and who will always hold a special place in my heart as my youngest daughter.

Baby Boy, my growing-up-way-too-fast five-and-a-half-month-old, who is so sweet and beautiful and perfect, he literally takes my breath away, who makes me laugh and cry simultaneously when he smiles at me with those HUGE blue eyes, and who will always hold a special place in my heart as my youngest child and only son.

My husband’s parents (Yes! My in-laws!), who welcomed me with open arms into their family, who have been married (to each other!) for over thirty years, and who have shown this emotionally damaged gal what a REAL family feels like.

These are just a few of many blessings I am so very grateful for. I could go on and on…..

So, Happy Thanksgiving everyone, a few days late. But hey, leftover Thankfulness is soooo much better than leftover turkey, right?

Comments are closed.

