Friday, Sweet Friday

Miss Attitude has her first field trip this afternoon. Remember elementary school field trips? How exciting it was to be riding the school bus? The dull (or not so dull) roar of all the children talking all at once, in eager anticipation, not quite knowing what to expect, but, hey, we got out of school for a while and we get to ride this cool bus, so that’s really awesome?

Miss Attitude is in Kindergarten, and is older than most of her class. (The kids have to be five BEFORE September 1st to start Kindergarten, and her birthday is the 12th, so she just turned six.) I swear, some of those kids (especially the ones who just turned five before school started) seem so TINY. Makes me glad Miss Attitude is older….especially since that puts her and The Drama Queen two years apart in school. And being one of the oldest certainly will have its advantages….I think the older kids (especially at this young age) tend to be the leaders. Also, she’s ahead of most of the kids as far as her learning, partly because she’s a little older, and partly because we’ve worked with her (and her sister, who’s also ahead of her class) at home. Now, this is starting to sound like just pure parental bragging…..and I promise I had a point to all this, although I don’t seem to have a clue now what that point was.

Oh yes, the point was that I’m glad Miss Attitude is one of the oldest in her class. It’ll be good for her.

In case you hadn’t noticed, my brain is tired. Actually, my everything is tired. And it’s my own stinkin’ fault. At only three months old, little Baby Boy is actually sleeping anywhere from 5 1/2 to 8 hours (in a row!) each night….but I can’t seem to make myself get to bed at a decent hour. I’m either trying to get stuff done (laundry, etc.), or I’m doing something REALLY important, like vegging out on the couch in front of the TV. It’s usually some time between 11:30 and 2:00 before I finally hit the proverbial hay. Then Baby Boy is up around 3:00 or 4:00. I nurse him and put him back to bed, and then my alarm goes off at 6:00. Sigh.

But at least it’s Friday. And Deputy Dad is off today, which means he’ll be home tonight. (He works nights most of the time, so he’s usually gone in the evenings.) I’m hoping we’ll make each other go to bed fairly soon after we get the kids to bed. We both need the rest.

Comments are closed.

