In case you were wondering what raising a boy is like

“Mom.  MOM.  MOM.”

“Yes, darlin’?”

“Dere’s bad guys.”

“Bad guys?”

“Yes.  Dere is bad guys in da house.”

“Oh no.  What’re you gonna do?  Are you gonna call Spiderman?”

“No.  Me will SHOOT dem.  Wif my big GUN.”

“Oh, okay.  Just don’t get any blood on the carpet.”

“Okay.  Me won’t.”

(Plastic, toy shotgun with “real” sounds:  Bang!  Bang!Bang!Bang!Bang!Bang!Bang!Bang!Bang!  Bang!  Bang!)

“Me SHOT dem!”

“You did?”

“Yes.  Me shot dem wif my GUN!”  (Pause, then…)  “Oh no!  Is ANUDDER bad guy!”

Bang!  Bang!Bang!Bang!Bang!Bang!

“Me got him.”

21 Responses to In case you were wondering what raising a boy is like

  1. Simply adorable. We have imaginary bad guys here, too. Kinda freaks me out. I need to put on my imaginary play cap.

  2. Jenski says:

    Phew. Glad he got bof bad guys! You should look up “kick the monsters butt” on youtube.

  3. LadyBug says:

    UCM, without bad guys, we wouldn’t have any Super Heroes!

    I’ve seen that YouTube video, Jenski. That little girl cracks me up!

  4. CM says:

    Deputy Dad must be very very proud.

  5. LadyBug says:

    Hi, CM! Good to “see” you! And yes, Deputy Dad certainly is proud of his Little Man.

  6. momo says:

    thanks for the warning!

  7. LadyBug says:

    You’re entirely welcome, Momo. And give my little nephew a kiss for me, would you? :)

  8. Danielle says:

    Ah, boys with their guns. It starts that early, eh?

    Sounds pretty cute. Like CM said, deputy dad must be proud. Get em bad guys.

  9. LadyBug says:

    Yes, Danielle, it does indeed start that early. Well, earlier, really. He’s been making guns out of blocks for quite a while now. :)

  10. squirl says:

    You posted and I missed it. Boys are pretty different aren’t they? He sounds liked he’s all boy. We had Ichabod’s nephews this past weekend. They were a lot of fun.

  11. ebeth says:

    Why not work through the bad guys’ grievances with some less faux-fatal consequences?

  12. LadyBug says:

    Thanks for stopping by, Jessi!

    Yes, Squirl, SuperBoy is definitely All Boy, through and through. And abso-freaking-lutely adorable. (In my objective, totally unbiased opinion. Hee.)

    Hello and welcome, ebeth. Since I don’t know you, I can only hope that your comment was meant to be silly and tongue-in-cheek; and I’m choosing to take it as such. If I thought you might be serious, my eyeballs might fall out of my head from rolling my eyes so hard. :)

  13. Annejelynn says:

    have you ever seen the YouTube clip of the 3 yr old talking about kicking, some, um ‘ask’? You gotta see this:

  14. LadyBug says:

    I’ve seen that clip, Annejelynn, and it cracks me up every time. Too cute!

  15. Squirl says:

    Happy Mother’s Day!

  16. Susie says:

    Thinking about you lots. Hope the transition is (transitions are) going smoothly. :)

  17. Squirl says:

    How are things going for you? I’m sure you’re busy, but maybe you could put up a really short post about your new place and how your life’s going.

  18. RzDrms says:

    happy birthday, sugarplum! :)

  19. sch4pm says:

    Good boy. Keeps mom and house safe.

  20. Squirl says:

    Merry Christmas, hon! Hope all is going well for you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

