The Good, the Bad, and the Stuffy

The Good:

Miss Attitude’s neurologist appointment was yesterday.  Without going into a lot of long, drawn-out detail, I’ll just make a long story short and tell you it was good news, all around.  Since the MRIs and VEP came back normal, he really didn’t think we had anything to worry about; the abnormal “protein band” in her spinal fluid, in and of itself, was not a clear indicator of MS…was, in fact, “really nothing to worry about.”  (*insert huge sigh of relief here*)  He also doesn’t think Miss Attitude has papilledema (optic nerve swelling); he thinks it may be pseudopapilledema, in which it just appears swollen, but actually isn’t.  He’s sending her to a pediatric ophthamologist, who will – I assume – confirm or refute the neurologist’s finding.  The headaches, he says, sound like childhood migraines, and for now we’ll just treat them with Tylenol and Motrin unless/until she needs something stronger.

The Bad:

As if all the headache/MRI/optic nerve/spinal tap/neurology crap wasn’t enough, Miss Attitude is currently recovering from yet another round of pneumonia, her third? or fourth, maybe? episode of pneumonia in the last several months.  Her pediatrician has spoken with her pulmonologist, who wants to do another bronchoscopy to try to find out why the poor kid keeps getting pneumonia.  She’ll have that on June 13th, this time under general anesthesia.  (Her last bronchoscopy – two years ago – was done under conscious sedation.)

The Stuffy:

I’ve been fighting what I’m pretty sure is a sinus infection.  It started as a cold - or allergies, or a combination thereof – about three weeks ago, and has steadily continued NOT to improve.  I have neither medical insurance nor the money for a doctor visit or prescriptions, especially in the wake of all of Miss Attitude’s recent doctor visits and prescriptions, so I’ve just waited and waited for things to get better…for my head to stop throbbing and my nose to stop dripping and my sinuses to stop draining and my throat to stop hurting and my cough to stop…erm…coughing; but, alas, my body seems to have chosen not to heal itself, and I finally gave in to Deputy Dad’s demands and let him call his doctor to make me an appointment.  He called to let me know they had scheduled me for 4:00…NEXT Tuesday.  My response?  “Hell, just forget it…I’ll either be better or dead by then!”  Geez.

19 Responses to The Good, the Bad, and the Stuffy

  1. scott says:

    Good, bad, and bummer. Were I more magical a person I would hocus pocus you both better. Being rather nonmagical, I will just have to wish you better. It doesn’t often work, but it couldn’t hurt.

    Hello, LadyBug.

  2. Squirl says:

    I’m glad that your daughter doesn’t have any really scary diseases. I’m sorry about the headaches, though. Migraines still suck. The bronchoscopy sounds sucky, too. Hope you guys do okay with it.

    That website was freaky. You aren’t allowed to die on us dear, so make sure you get to the doctor’s office. ;-)

  3. Susie says:

    The good news is very good, indeed. Migraines suck, and so does a bronchoscopy, though :( I do hope and pray that Miss Attitude gets very healthy very soon, and stays that way. And the same goes for the Mama. xxx

  4. kalki says:

    Well it sucks that you had to worry for so long for nothing, but thank goodness it was for nothing! Hip hip hooray!!! And thanks for the update. I’ve been wondering, and was just about to email you to ask, in fact.

    Hugs!

  5. Nils says:

    Great news about “nothing” … and any bad news pales beside that relief, I’m sure. I mean, the other stuff sucks … but it doesn’t suck on anywhere near the same level.

    Hope you get to feeling better real fast, darlin …

  6. Danielle says:

    I’m still a little bit amazed that they left you hanging for so long thinking that a protein band in her CSF was something concerning. Egads! I mean, surely they know that people worry?!

    Migraines at such a young age – I really feel for her. Be sure that when you talk to her about them you emphasize how important it is to take medicine at the first sign of any pain. It took me years to figure that out and boy do I wish I’d realized it/paid more attention earlier. Pain escalates in a way that you get to a point where the drugs don’t work anymore.

    I’m sorry to hear that poor Miss Attitude has had pneumonia so much. I don’t know what to say other than – how terrible for her and scary for you.

    Your own health problems sound wretched. I hate that about dr.’s offices that sometimes they want to see you like a week later. I mean, how useful is that? But maybe you should keep the appointment just in case you really are not better by then. In the meantime, all of my family is swearing by Mucinex DM (especially for sleeping) when they had similar sounding illnesses. Hang in there.

    And thanks for the news. I’d been wondering.

  7. Oh wow! The good news is great news although I am sad to hear she is feeling sick again. But pneumonia, that will fix itself in time. As for you, Stressed Out Mamma. Get thee to a doc. I am surprised you didn’t get sick sooner with all this angst going on. Big family hug to you all and please feel better soon.

  8. psumommy says:

    I am SO GLAD to read that it isn’t anything serious! Poor girl…and poor mama, you’ve both been through so much!

    Hugs on the snuffly. I can relate…apparently, my body decided to have allergies last week. This sucks, the sniffling, snorting, sneezing and coughing. And the doctor’s appointment? WHY do they do that? Agh! They’re supposed to keep sick times open for…well…SICK people! I’m grrrring for you…darn them!

  9. mrtl says:

    whew!

    Now stop being sick!

  10. Joey says:

    So if she has pseudopapilledema, does that mean she has a PSEUDO pseudo tumor, in which the optic nerve only appears to be swollen, giving the impression that she has a pseudo tumor? :)

    Seriously, I’ve been following this story, Sis, and I’m so happy that things appear to be taking a turn for the better.

  11. sheryl says:

    Thank goodness for the good news!!

    Now what can we do to get you health insurance??

  12. aMy says:

    hi honey.
    Glad to read #1.
    Sorry to read #2.
    Hated to read #3, poor thee!

    Honest to Pete, if I could put some immunites in an envelope I would. Too bad they didnt sell breastmilk for mommas who need to not get sick!

  13. Amber says:

    Seriously.

    I am glad to hear that she is doing “better” in the sense that there isn’t anything scary wrong with her. I hope that the migraine stuff gets better though and just go away.

    And I agree, I think it would be great if they sold mommy breast milk. ;-)

    Hope you feel better soon, because, like you need a break.

  14. Squirl says:

    Hey, hon, Happy Mother’s Day! I hope life is going well for you!

  15. Susie says:

    Happy Mother’s Day, LadyBug! xxx

  16. psumommy says:

    Happy Mother’s Day, Ladybug. I hope you had a fantastic day!

  17. dawn says:

    The good is so very good! I bet you are so relieved to have that news. I hope you feel better. I bet getting alot of rest is not in the cards. It sucks when the mom is sick.

    I love you.

    Love,
    Dawn

  18. Amy says:

    Hello Ladygirlfriend.

    Hoping your cold is gone with the wind.

  19. Squirl says:

    Love you and thinking about you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

